I Can not install the new version on my MACBOOK

I've been trying to install the ARDR app on my MACBOOK and it keeps telling me the installer from the website is damaged. Any ideas?

Can somebody help me please?

Anybody???

Try xattr -c <file>.dmg. If it doesn't work you can also try to append sudo to that command.

Thanks for your reaction. But sorry, I do not know what to do. What is : xattr -c <file>.dmg .

If it doesn't work you can also try to append sudo to that command.

What is sudo to that command?

(I am not a coder / programmer sorry)

with sudo you execute commands with super user rights, basically as admin.

you would use:
sudo xattr -c <file>.dmg

and would be asked for your password.

Those are command line orders. You need to open a terminal, and run that command to your downloaded dmg file.

@Almonte , could you provide some more details? I don't even know the name for the terminal app on MacOS. :grin:

Hi Dutchrotterdam,

You have to open a MacOS terminal:

• Click Command + Spacebar.
  • Type Terminal and click enter

The MacOS terminal will appear, then navigate to the folder you downloaded the Ardor MacOS installer.
ie: cd Downloads/

Finally run the following command:

sudo xattr -c ardor-installer-2.3.4.dmg

Afterwards, you can open the installer normally

1 Like

Super, it worked!

thank you very much Alberto (and others) and best regards.

2 Likes

Hi Alberto,
When I do the indications you recommend, the next message appears on my screen: "Ardor-installer" is damaged and cannot be opened. Move it to the trash."
Any other recommendation?
Thanks!

Hi Ardorfan,

Can you please double check that you opened a terminal and you execute the command:

sudo xattr -c ardor-installer-2.3.4.dmg

It will asks for your password, once it is executed the Ardor installer will not prompt that error.

Kind regards and thanks for reaching out

Thanks for your fast reply Alberto. This is a screenshot of what appears on my screen: